Ninja Is Hosting His Own Fortnite Tournament Series

Tyler “Nina” Blevins is hosting his own invitational Fortnite tournament series through July 2.

The blue haired, green eyed streamer announced Ninja Battles Featuring Fortnite on Wednesday. It kicks off on May 28 with six events, each with their own $80,000 prize pool, over the next 2 months. The action starts tomorrow at 12 PM PT / 3 PM ET streamed on Ninja’s Mixer channel.

Fortnite World Cup champion Kyle “Bugha” Giersdorf and Nicholas “Nick Eh 30” Amyoony are two confirmed competitors among more than 60 gaming personalities that will take part.

Ninja is joined by NRG Fortnite player Benjy “Benjyfishy” David Fish who announced his own tournament on May 23. His features a $10,000 prize pool and open qualifiers. It kicks off later today at 2 PM PT / 5 PM ET. Registration is no longer open, but viewers can tune in to see the final rounds.

Both tournaments are a good sign for competitive Fortnite, according to community veterans. They mark the first time a tournament has been hosted by someone other than Epic Games which is vital to the future of Fortnite as an esport. Players, commentators, and fans hope this is the start of a new trend.

“The Benjyfishy cup is the 1st step at unlocking insane potential with open 3rd party tournaments,” tweeted Fortnite commentator Arten “Ballatw” Esa who is casting Ninja’s tournament series. “I’m saying–if this is where I think it is going…I am very optimistic in the future of comp Fortnite. Imagine a world where ESL can run an FNCS style qualifier… IN GAME.”

Fortnite News

  • Fortnite Is Counting Down To Doomsday, And Here's What That Means
  • Fortnite Safe House Locations: Where To Eliminate Henchmen For Storm The Agency Challenge
  • Fortnite's New 90 FPS Feature On OnePlus Phones Offers Something Consoles Can't
  • Fortnite Update 12.61: Storm The Agency Challenges And Drake's Tootsie Slide Emote
  • Fortnite's Season 3 Start Date

Source: Read Full Article