Icarus: Play Mode vs. Offline Mode

When you open Icarus for the first time, you will be presented with two game modes; play and offline. Hovering over these game modes doesn't provide information as to what they are, but we are here to help with this.

In this guide, we are going to go over the difference between play and online mode. Overall, the game itself is not affected by the choice that you make. You will still have the same missions and technologies available. The main difference between these two modes is how the save file is handled. First, let's look at play mode.

Play Mode

Play mode, or online play, connects you to RocketWerkz's servers; this is where your save file is stored.

In this mode, you will be able to play with friends online from around the world. You, along with up to seven other people, will be able to explore the world of Icarus together. Additionally, you will have the option to play by yourself.

By choosing play mode, you will also run the risk of the servers going down. This isn't a common problem, but if it does happen, you will not be able to retrieve your save file and play.

Playing with others has benefits, including the ability to revive a fallen player and combined resources. There is safety in numbers, especially when dealing with wild animals as well.

Offline Mode

If you choose to play in offline mode, your save file will be stored locally, on your own computer. By choosing this mode, others will not be able to join you. This mode is perfect if you want to play alone. Server connection problems will not affect your save file, allowing you to play whenever you want.

It's important to know that characters cannot be transferred between game modes. If you make a character in offline mode and then decide that you want to play with friends, you will need to make an entirely new character. Because of this, we advise you to only play on offline mode if you are completely sure that you want to play alone.

When playing in offline mode, there are certain benefits to help you survive. As you play alone and level up, you will be able to invest skill points into a skill tree only available to solo players. These skills are meant to help you survive without needing to rely on others.

That's all there is to know about play and offline mode. Whether you choose to play alone or with others, get out there and start exploring!

Source: Read Full Article